Gluten Free Substitutions

30 Things That Contain Gluten and What You Can Eat Instead

It can be hard, especially when you're getting started to know which of your favorite foods you can still eat and which ones you need to find gluten-free substitutions for.  Below is a list of 30 items that may be part of your diet and suggestions for what you can eat instead.

To get my FREE Printable Gluten-Free Food List to pin on your fridge or take shopping with you, along with my monthly newsletter, enter your email address below and click subscribe.

You'll want to become familiar labelling laws in your country.  In Canada, labelling laws are pretty strict, so as long as you check the labels on everything you buy, you will be safe.

gluten-free substitutions.  supermarket aisle

Gluten Free Substitutions: Anything made with wheat or rye flour

These are the easiest items to recognize that they have gluten in them and that you'll need to find gluten-free substitutions.  Scan the list along with some suggestions for alternatives. 

bread

- gluten free bread
- skip the bread, instead try:
     - make sandwich ingredients into a salad
     - put sandwich ingredients into a lettuce or other wrap (see wraps)
    - finger foods like fresh veggies, cheese,         - nuts

breading or bread crumbs

- cornmeal
- gluten free bread crumbs
- mashed potato flakes 
- gluten-free oatmeal
- crushed gluten-free crackers or cereal

breakfast cereal

- There is a good selection of gluten-free breakfast cereals.  Grains are a high risk item for cross contamination so be sure that the cereal you choose says gluten-free on the label. Check the health food or specialty food aisle in your grocery store. 
- try other options for breakfast

cakes, cookies, other baked goods

- I don't like to list specific brands as formulations change often.  There are GF mixes in the baking aisle or the health food aisle.
- Search for gluten free bakers in your area, they are becoming more common.
- Ask your baker if they can accommodate gluten free.  Ensure they consider cross contamination
-make your own

crackers

- there are lots of gluten free options at the supermarket
- rice crackers are a simple favourite

granola bars

- there are lots of choices at the supermarket
- make your own

pasta

-gluten free pasta, lots of choices
     -corn pasta
     -rice pasta
     - soba noodles
- substitute egg plant, zucchini, spaghetti squash

pastry

- check with your grocer, some carry ready made gf pastry
- Search for gluten free bakers in your area, they are becoming more common.
- Ask your baker if they can accommodate gluten free.  Ensure they consider cross contamination
- make your own

pizza crust

- gf wraps or tortillas
- check with you grocer, gf pizza's a pizza crust is becoming common.
- make your own
- check with your favourite pizzeria, there is  a good chance they offer a gf crust

snacks like pretzels, trail mix, other snack mixes

- check labels and look for gluten free options
- check the health food aisle (ironically) at your supermarket

wheat flour

- gf flour blend, there are many commercially available
- make your own blend

wraps

- rice paper wraps
- gf tortillas (check the health food section)
- make your own

Gluten Free Substitutions: Anything thickened with wheat flour

Soups, stews and sauces are items that often use wheat flour as a thickening agent.  It's really easy to make your own, however if you have some favorites that you like to buy, they may be gluten free or you may be able to find an alternative. 

gravy

- check with your grocer, there are some gluten free commercial choices
- make your own with gf flour or corn starch

sauces

- many bottled and canned sauces contain gluten, check labels
- make your own, its easy

soups

- many commercially available soups contain gluten.  Check labels
- check with your grocer, there are some gf options
- make your own

stews

- many canned stews contain gluten, check labels
- make your own
- I don't like to mention brands as formulations change, but at writing Stag Chili had some gluten free choices.  Check labels and / or check with the company


Check out my FREE  Newsletter!

Up to the minute information about
Living Gluten-Free, Simply and Naturally

Click Here!


Gluten Free Substitutions:  Anything that uses flour or bread crumbs as a filler or coating

Although fresh whole cuts of meat  are naturally gluten-free, anything that is processed has the opportunity to have gluten added.  The items below have a high chance of containing gluten so you'll need to look for gluten-free substitutions. 

deli meats

- look for certified gluten free
- try other options like cooking a ham, turkey breast, chicken, roast beef or pork and eat the leftovers on sandwiches

fish sticks or chicken fingers

- chances are these are coated in crumbs or batter made with wheat flour.  The specialty food section of your grocery store may have some gluten-free alternatives.

hamburger patties

- pre-made or frozen patties may contain gluten so check the label.
- ask the butcher to make up patties for you
- make your own

sausages

- pre-made or frozen patties may contain gluten so check the label.
- check with the butcher, they may have some gf options

Gluten Free Substitutions: Common bottled ingredients

Many condiments like ketchup, relish, most mustards, will be naturally gluten-free, just check the label to be sure.  Below are some things to watch for and possible gluten=free substitutions. 

Salad dressing

- many are gluten free, check labels
- be careful of "Asian" style dressings that may have soy sauce as an ingredient.
- make your own, it's easy

soya sauce

- tamari
- check with your grocer there are some gluten free options
- I don't like to mention brands as formulations change, but vh has a GF soya sauce.  Check the label and be sure you see "gluten free"

spices and seasonings

 - check labels
- I only trust McCormicks or Club House but in Canada others should be fine unless indicated on the label.
- Especially watch seasoning mixes, they often contain unexpected ingredients

some mustards

- especially grainy mustard.  Check the label and be sure to choose one that has no gluten-ingredients. 

teriyaki sauce

contains soya sauce, avoid or look for gluten free

Worcestershire sauce

- most contain malt vinegar which has gluten
-look for a brand that uses white vinegar
I don't like to mention brands as formulations change, but French's has a GF option available at some Walmarts.  Check the label and be sure you see "gluten free"

Many canned goods

- this is really item by item.  Check labels
- try fresh or frozen instead

Gluten Free Substitutions: Anything containing barley

beer

- gluten free beer
- try other options like cider, wine or mixed drinks. 

some alcoholic coolers

- look for malt or caramel as these can be problematic
- check the manufacturers website

Gluten Free Substitutions:  Anything that uses flour as a carrier for flavorings

Some potato chips or corn chips

- check labels, there are gluten free options
- plain is usually fine but check labels

Some flavoured pop corn

- air pop your own
- if you like the shake on flavours just check the labels

Flavoured rice cakes

- Most will be gluten-free.  Check labels to be sure.

Flavourings on snacks often contain lactose as well, so if you also have a lactose issue as is common with celiac disease watch for this.

Hidden sources of gluten

caramel colour
malt
malt vinegar
preservatives and food additives
candies


- in Canada any sources of gluten must be declared on the label
- many hard candies are processed on a floured conveyor belt, check labels
- chocolate with wafers or crunchies

Items that don't contain gluten but may be contaminated in growing, processing or packaging.  

spices
beans
oats / oatmeal*
nuts / seeds / trail mix

- this could be anything but these are considered high risk
- check lables
- look for certified gluten free

* many people with celiac disease don't tolerate oats well even if gluten free.


Check out my FREE  Newsletter!

Up to the minute information about
Living Gluten-Free, Simply and Naturally

Click Here!


You Might Also Like

Gluten-Free Products:  For the most part I recommend whole foods and avoiding packaged gluten-free products.  Reality is though that some convenience items can fit well into a naturally gluten-free lifestyle.  Click here for tips and reviews on products I recommend. 

Gluten-Free Products: Grocery aisle with "free from" products signage.

Gluten-Free Sauces:  Many pre-made sauces contain gluten, and you can learn to make your own.  From quick mixtures of items you likely have in your pantry, to aromatic savory sauces that will fill your kitchen with smell that will make your mouth water. 

brown sauce pouring from gold trimmed pitcher.

Home > Foods > Substitutions